A beautiful morning

I set out for a walk early this morning. I have moved in to a new apartment. It is more like row houses. Gated community with few amenities. The new locality and the streets are broad and well laid (well laid roads in India are rare!). The streets, calm and quite away from the bustling traffic. 

I walked down the arch way of trees with birds chirping ever so gleefully. The Sun was yet to rise and the breeze was chill. The sky looked clear painted with strokes of orange and pink here and there. The clouds so white and fluffy that I almost wanted to sink into them and fall asleep. I took a deep breath of the fresh air that almost filled my soul. I felt energized and my mind felt calm. 
I watched an old lady sprinkle water in her entrance, made dots and drew lines with rice floor; this is how she starts her everyday I assumed. She effortlessly drew strokes that were going to transform into one beautiful piece of art. It is traditionally called as ‘Kollam’. Kollam in South India is housewives’ favourite work of art that they take pride in. 

I could smell fresh coffee brewing at someone’s house. Most South Indians began their day with a cup (traditionally a ‘dabrrah’) of coffee and South Indian coffee is ecstatic, although I sound boastful, it is true or probably our taste buds are tuned to it.

In a distance I heard a man scream names of different spinach that he was selling. This was what he did for an extra income, he had a full time job as a carpenter; I learnt from a quick conversation with him. People who know me, know that I make friends with most shopkeepers. I find their trade interesting and their lives even more interesting. I bought a bunch of fresh greens, said my goodbyes and continued my walk. It was more of stroll at this point. I was sucked into the beauty and intricacies of my surrounding and fitness meant little to me right now. I walked down the road and spotted an old building, a government school. The ayyamas (helpers) were lethargic and disinterested in sweeping the floor. However,  I waz drawn to the building that was old yet elegant and a huge banyan tree that sat in the middle of the bare ground. I was sure it provided shelter for children during their lunch or break. I wished I could sit under the tree and write all day and night. 

By now the Sun was beginning to peek through the clouds and it made the wind slightly warm. 

I have to get back to my mundane life. But few moments like these make all the difference and its we who have to make time to create them..

Find time for yourself everyday even if it was for few minutes. It helps you unwind and introspect. 

-Sue

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

chronotope

Education, research and stuff.

saneteachers

What they never taught me in teacher school.

The Pradita Chronicles

A blog on reading, writing and storytelling

Everyday Thoughts

Publishing News - Books - Art - Lifestyle - Poetry

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Life as a Girl

Be a girl with a mind, a woman with attitude and a lady with class

Bridney_Blogs

"Take your BROKEN HEART , turn it into ART." -Carrie Fisher

MysteriousSoul

The scars of my soul bled through words in the form of poetry.

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

Sandra Pollock's Blog

Sharing my life and thoughts

Girl In The Meadow

"Trust Me that My dreams for you are far greater than you can dream on your own."

Three Angry Nerds

The (Nerdy) News That Matters!

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

mirissa d. price

A DENTAL STUDENT, A WRITER, A JOURNEY TO SHARE.

A shot across the bow

Take this to heart

